Austin Foundation for Architecture - Form:Function 2020

Form:Function 2020

Explore Form:Function Virtually!


Form:Function is an Austin Foundation for Architecture celebration and benefit featuring AIA Austin’s Honor Award winners. The 2020 awards took place November 19, 2020, and recognized the Clarksville Community Development Corporation for Community Vision, Senator Kirk Watson for Public Architecture, Benny L. Hawkins for Community Service, and more.

For 2020, Form:Function was re-conceived as a unique self-guided event space. Using the Matterport 3D platform, Austin’s design-minded community can come together virtually at The Independent to celebrate our honorees, hear remarks by special presenters, and learn how to construct the event’s signature cocktail (the High-Rise, in honor of our venue!) through a demonstration led by our guest bartender, Larry Speck, FAIA! 

The 2020 Form:Function event also marked the tenth year of our tradition of honoring community leaders! Learn more about our past honorees here.

Access the virtual event space! 

Tips for navigating the space
Matterport system requirements
Trouble with the virtual tour? You can also view the videos here.

The 2020 AIA Austin Honor Award winners are:

Firm Achievement Award

Lucy Begg, AIA
Emerging Professional Achievement Award

Christine Sheng, Assoc. AIA
Associate Member of the Year Award

Senator Kirk Watson
Alan Yamato Taniguchi Award for Public Architecture

Benny L. Hawkins, AIA
John V. Nyfeler, FAIA, Community Service Award

Clarksville Community Development Corporation
Community Vision Award

Sue Edwards
Honorary AIA Austin Membership

Chris Noack, AIA, and Jacqui Dodson, AIA
Exceptional Service to the Austin Foundation for Architecture


Thank you to our sponsors!





   David Bodenman
In honor of Sue Edwards, Hon. AIA Austin




AIA Austin Honor Award Underwriters


   Melba Whatley, Hon. TxA